

## Arkansas Natural Resources Commission



Bruce Holland Executive Director 101 East Capitol, Suite 350 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201 http://www.anrc.arkansas.gov/ Phone: (501) 682-1611 Fax: (501) 682-3991 E-mail: anrc@arkansas.gov Asa Hutchinson Governor

December 17, 2018

Leigh Ann Pool Central Arkansas Planning and Development District City of Conway P.O. Box 300 Lonoke, Arkansas 72086

## RE: City of Conway- (Acquisition and Demolition) Hazard Mitigation Assistance Grant

Dear Ms. Pool:

I have reviewed the information submitted regarding the acquisition and demolition of the nine singlefamily structures ranging from Sugar Creek Drive and South Donaghey Avenue in the City of Conway. Examination of the Flood Insurance Rate Map indicates that the developments lie within the Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA), Zone AE. As such, the project is subject to the floodplain development regulations outlined in 44 CFR Part 60 (The Code of Federal Regulations for the National Flood Insurance Program) and the Flood Management Ordinance for the City of Conway.

As noted, the structure located within the City of Conway is an identified flood risk and/or has made previous flood damage claims at all locations. Demolition of the nine structures through the Hazard Mitigation Grant requires the deeded properties to be maintained as open green space indefinitely. Please contact Finley Vinson, City of Conway Floodplain Administrator with inquiries on local floodplain development regulations.

Finley Vinson Phone: (501) 513-3565 Finley.Vinson@cityofconway.org

If you have any questions or need additional information, please feel free to call or email me via the phone number and email listed below.

Sincerely,

rellay Schnitton

Shelby Schmittou Arkansas Natural Resources Commission State CRS Coordinator Phone: (501) 682-3907 Shelby.Schmittou@Arkansas.gov